Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful


Here’s my entry into this weeks photo challenge “Thankful”. Photographically, I’m thankful for the opportunities I have had to experience nature, specifically in Alaska. I made this image on an overnight excursion with the Winter Survival class from the University of Alaska-Anchorage. Our project on that beautiful sunny day was to build our shelter for the night. In groups of 2-3, most of us built the “assigned shelter” of igloos. A couple of people decided to just dig a trench in the snow and sleep under the stars. For the inexperienced, building an igloo took several hours. It must have been near freezing (balmy for an Alaskan winter day) this day as our exertion and the sun reflecting off the snow made it seem like a day at the beach. As the sun began to set, the clear skies gave up the heat pretty quickly. I caught this image near sunset shortly after we finished the igloo. Being first timers, we didn’t design our entry way perfectly to trap the heat inside as well as it should. Properly built, the inside temperature will stay near freezing. I don’t know how cold it reached that night but I mistakenly left my contact lens case outside of my sleeping bag. The next morning I had to break through a layer of contact solution ice to retrieve my contacts.

About TheLandSlidePhotography

Specializing in Nature, Travel and Sports photography. Visit http://Ronnie-Glover.ArtistWebsites.com
This entry was posted in Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

